Faculty of Dentistry


Oral Rehabilitation

The Department of Oral Rehabilitation is responsible for core clinical teaching in the Bachelor of Dental Surgery programme and includes responsibility for the disciplines of Biomaterials, Clinical Cariology, Endodontics, General Dental Practice and Prosthodontics. The Department also has responsibility for teaching the Bachelor of Dental Technology and contributing to the Bachelor of Oral Health.

Faculty of DentistryAt graduate level, the Department offers courses of study and research leading to the degrees of Doctor of Clinical Dentistry in Endodontics and in Prosthodontics, the Doctor of Philosophy through the Sir John Walsh Research Institute - a University of Otago Research Centre. Completion of a DClinDent is the pathway towards registration as a dental specialist in New Zealand. The Department also offers a Masters degree and a Postgraduate Diploma in Clinical Dentistry in General Dental Practice.

The Department provides specialist consultant services to dentists, the Health and Disability Commissioner, the Accident Compensation Corporation, and industries allied to dentistry.

Research undertaken by members of the Department of Oral Rehabilitation covers a diverse range of topics related to Clinical Cariology, Endodontics, Biomaterials, Prosthodontics and Dental Technology, dealing with the prevention and treatment of dental disease, the restoration and replacement of teeth and their associated structures affected by disease, trauma or wear; the restoration of form, function and appearance, and mechanical testing and computer modeling of the behaviour of dental tissues and biomaterials.  Many research projects are done in collaboration with other departments and universities.

The Head of the Department is Professor Karl Lyons.



Dental Technology


General Practice Dentistry

  • Professor Robert Love (Head of Discipline)
  • Mr F Perry Adank
  • Dr Michael Bradshaw
  • Dr Raquel Gerber-Bastos
  • Dr Jacob R Grieve
  • Mr John Heenan
  • Dr LaDonna Loo
  • Mr Russel G McLean
  • Mr Gary A Marks
  • Mr Ross R Meldrum
  • Mr Rex J Moore
  • Mr Kristin Nielsen
  • Mrs Michelle A Pienaar
  • Ms Angela M Reeves
  • Ms Lisa Ung
  • Mr Craig J Waterhouse
  • Ms Megan E Webb
  • Dr Davina S Wong

Preventive and Restorative Dentistry


Further Information


Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.



University of Otago Faculty of Dentistry